The HABRI Foundation is calling for research proposals to investigate the health outcomes of pet ownership and/or animal-assisted activity or therapy, both for the people and the animals involved. To learn more, visit https://habri.org/grants/funding-opportunities/ close

 
You are here: Home / Journal Articles / Tourists' perceptions of the free-roaming dog population in Samoa / About

Tourists' perceptions of the free-roaming dog population in Samoa

By M. Beckman, K. E. Hill, M. J. Farnworth, C. F. Bolwell, J. Bridges, E. Acke

View Resource (HTM)

Licensed under

Category Journal Articles
Abstract

A study was undertaken to establish how visiting tourists to Samoa perceived free-roaming dogs ( Canis familiaris) and their management, additionally some factors that influence their perceptions were assessed. Questionnaires were administered to 281 tourists across Samoa over 5 weeks. Free-roaming dogs were seen by 98.2% ( n=269/274) of respondents, with 64.9% ( n=137/211) reporting that their presence had a negative effect on overall holiday experience. Respondents staying in the Apia (capital city) area were more likely to consider dogs a problem ( p

Publication Title Animals
Volume 4
Issue 4
Pages 599-611
ISBN/ISSN 2076-2615
DOI 10.3390/ani4040599
Language English
Author Address Department of Clinical Sciences, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Domestic Animal Sciences, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Box 7054, Uppsala 75007, Sweden.magnus_beckman@hotmail.com k.hill@massey.ac.nz c.bolwell@massey.ac.nz j.p.bridges@massey.ac.nz e.acke@massey.ac.nz mfarnworth@unitec.ac.nz
Cite this work

Researchers should cite this work as follows:

Tags
  1. ACP Countries
  2. Animals
  3. Attitudes
  4. Canidae
  5. Canine
  6. Carnivores
  7. Commonwealth of Nations
  8. Developed countries
  9. Developing countries
  10. Dogs
  11. Islands
  12. Mammals
  13. Oceania
  14. peer-reviewed
  15. Polynesia
  16. populations
  17. Samoa
  18. Tourism and travel
  19. vertebrates
Badges
  1. peer-reviewed