The HABRI Foundation is calling for research proposals to investigate the health outcomes of pet ownership and/or animal-assisted activity or therapy, both for the people and the animals involved. To learn more, visit https://habri.org/grants/funding-opportunities/ close

 
You are here: Home / Journal Articles / Humanity's best friend: a dog-centric approach to addressing global challenges / About

Humanity's best friend: a dog-centric approach to addressing global challenges

By A. Sykes, P. Beirne, A. Horowitz, I. Jones, L. Kalof, E. Karlsson, T. King, H. Litwak, R. A. McDonald, L. J. Murphy, N. Pemberton, D. Promislow, A. Rowan, P. Stahl, J. Tehrani, E. Tourigny, C. D. L. Wynne, E. Strauss, G. Larson

Category Journal Articles
Abstract

No other animal has a closer mutualistic relationship with humans than the dog (Canis familiaris). Domesticated from the Eurasian grey wolf (Canis lupus), dogs have evolved alongside humans over millennia in a relationship that has transformed dogs and the environments in which humans and dogs have co-inhabited. The story of the dog is the story of recent humanity, in all its biological and cultural complexity. By exploring human-dog-environment interactions throughout time and space, it is possible not only to understand vital elements of global history, but also to critically assess our present-day relationship with the natural world, and to begin to mitigate future global challenges. In this paper, co-authored by researchers from across the natural and social sciences, arts and humanities, we argue that a dog-centric approach provides a new model for future academic enquiry and engagement with both the public and the global environmental agenda.

Date 2020
Publication Title Animals
Volume 10
Issue 3
Pages 18
ISBN/ISSN 2076-2615
Publisher MDPI
DOI 10.3390/ani10030502
URL https://www.mdpi.com/2076-2615/10/3/502
Language English
Author Address Department of Archaeology, University of Exeter, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QE, UK.Sykes@exeter.ac.uk beirne@maine.edu ahorowit@barnard.edu ionewbjones@gmail.com lkalof@msu.edu Elinor.Karlsson@umassmed.edu Tammie.King@effem.com hdlitwak@gmail.com R.McDonald@exeter.ac.uk luke@luke-murphy.com neil.pemberton@manchester.ac.uk promislo@uw.edu arowan@wellbeingintl.org pstahl@uvic.ca jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk Eric.Tourigny@newcastle.ac.uk clivewynne@gmail.com Eric.Strauss@lmu.edu greger.larson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Additional Language English
Cite this work

Researchers should cite this work as follows:

Tags
  1. Animal behavior
  2. Animal roles
  3. Animals
  4. Animal welfare
  5. Anthropology
  6. Anthrozoology
  7. Behavioral research
  8. Behavior and behavior mechanisms
  9. Canidae
  10. Canine
  11. Carnivores
  12. Dogs
  13. History
  14. Humans
  15. Mammals
  16. Men
  17. Pets and companion animals
  18. Primates
  19. Psychiatry and psychology
  20. Relationships
  21. Social psychology and social anthropology
  22. vertebrates
  23. Veterinary sciences
  24. Zoology